BirdSong, new drama on BBC1…

Having advised everyone to watch ‘Birdsong’, the new BBC1 Sunday night drama at work through my ‘Inspiring Stuff’ newsletter, purely based on it’s enthusiastic reviews, I felt I best sit down last night and find out what all the anticipation is about. Based on Sebastian Faulk’s epic love story, Birdsong more than lived up to my expectations.

I’m not really a period drama girl, but this program was absolutely gripping. I almost couldn’t watch the gory war scenes but was too hooked to get up and turn the program off…peeping at the screen through my hands at points, too anxious for words, as they disappeared into the underground tunnels of the WW1 trenches. Fiddling with my Twitter through the intimate love scenes, reading how people were watching with their parents…if ever there was a time for an awkward moment! The costumes were well considered and Isabelle (Clements Poesy), in her delicate vintage dresses is sure to put Parisian Chic on the wardrobe inspiration list! Pretty layered, soft dresses with beautiful embellishment, I am looking forward to going to the National Theatre Costume Hire centre on Friday to look for something similar to photograph and to next Sunday night for the concluding episode…Bring on the weekend!

Starring Eddie Redmayne and Clements Poesy, Birdsong BBC1 Sunday at 9pm.

Leave a Reply

